David Toms, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Lucas Glover Highlight Early Wyndham Championship Field Commitments

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Nine of the top-30 players in the current FedExCup point standings are currently in the field for the Wyndham Championship, it was announced today.  The 72nd annual Wyndham Championship is set for Aug. 15-21 at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, N.C.  Players have until 5 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 12 to join the field.

2010 Wyndham Championship runner up David Toms is currently eighth in FedExCup points.  After finishing on the wrong end of a playoff at The Players Championship, he came back the next week to win the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial on May 22.  The Louisiana State University alumnus has four top-10 finishes in 15 starts this season including his win, a runner up and a third-place finish. This year’s tournament will be Toms’ 12th appearance here.

Webb Simpson is currently 11th in the FedExCup point standings.  The Wake Forest alumnus has two runner-up finishes this season among five top-10 finishes.  He finished second at the Transitions Championship in Tampa, Fla. and tied for second at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans.  Last year, he finished tied for eighth at the Wyndham in his second Sedgefield appearance.

2007 Wyndham winner Brandt Snedeker returns to Sedgefield this year after winning The Heritage in Hilton Head, S.C. on April 24.  Snedeker is 12th in the current FedExCup point standings with five top-10 finishes in 17 tournaments this season.  The Vanderbilt University alumnus won the inaugural Wyndham Championship and went onto become the PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year that season. This year’s tournament will be Snedeker’s sixth consecutive appearance here.

In addition, Charles Howell III, 23rd, D.A. Points, winner of the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am and 24th in FedExCup points, Bob Hope Classic winner Jhonattan Vegas, 26th, HP Byron Nelson Championship winner Keegan Bradley, 27th, Spencer Levin, 28th in FedExCup points and Jason Dufner, 30th in FedExCup points are also in the Wyndham field making nine of the top 30 in FedExCup points.

2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover will return to Sedgefield for his ninth consecutive appearance here.  The Clemson University alumnus won the Wells Fargo Championship in Charlotte on May 8, 2011.  Glover was tied for the lead late in last year’s Wyndham Championship final round but faded to a seventh-place finish.  He is currently 41st in the FedExCup points.

Defending champion Arjun Atwal will return to Sedgefield this year along with two-time winner Rocco Mediate, Boo Weekley, Stuart Appleby, 2003 Masters winner Mike Weir, two-time major championship winner John Daly and Kyle Stanley.

Contested annually on the Donald Ross-designed course at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, N.C., the Wyndham Championship was founded in 1938 and is the seventh oldest event on the PGA TOUR.  Tickets are available at wyndhamchampionship.com or through the tournament office.  The tournament thanks title sponsor Wyndham Worldwide, presenting sponsor BB&T and Premier Partners, Flow Automotive, Harris Teeter, McConnell Golf and VF Corporation for their continued support.  Additional tournament information, including ticket packages and sponsorship information, is available at wyndhamchampionship.com or through the tournament office at (336) 379-1570.  For more information about Wyndham Worldwide, please visit www.wyndhamworldwide.com.

Latest Headlines

In Memoriam: Irwin Smallwood

Irwin Smallwood was a golf writer, sports editor and managing editor of the Greensboro News & Record, formerly the Greensboro Daily News, where he worked…