Ernie Els, Jordan Spieth Highlight Late Additions; Wyndham Field Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C.  –   Ernie Els and Jordan Spieth highlight some late additions to the 2013 Wyndham Championship field, the tournament announced tonight.  The 74th annual Wyndham Championship begins Monday.

These players join a field that includes defending champion Sergio Garcia, reigning FedExCup champion and 2007 Wyndham winner Brandt Snedeker, 2011 FedExCup champion Bill Haas, 2011 Wyndham winner and 2012 U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson, Wyndham winners Davis Love III, Carl Pettersson and K.J. Choi as well as major winners Vijay Singh, Zach Johnson, David Toms, Lucas Glover, Stewart Cink and Mike Weir, Japanese star Hideki Matsuyama and European stars Padraig Harrington, Martin Kaymer, Nicolas Colsaerts and Paul Casey.

A member of the World Golf Hall of Fame, Els is a four-time Major Championship winner; he won the 1994 U.S. Open, the 1997 U.S. Open, the 2002 Open Championship and the 2012 Open Championship.  He is 14th in the Official World Golf Rankings and 85th in the current FedExCup point standings.  He is a 19-time PGA TOUR winner and a 47-time winner in International competition.  He has two previous Wyndham Championship appearances.  He finished tied for ninth in 1997 and tied for 30th in 2011. A native of South Africa, Els lives in West Palm Beach, Fla.

Spieth is 15th in the current FedExCup Point standings and 53rd in the Official World Golf Rankings.  When he won the John Deere Classic in July, he qualified for the 2013 Open Championship the next week and earned full PGA TOUR membership status.  When he won at 19 years, 11 months and 18 days old, he became the youngest PGA TOUR winner since Ralph Guldahl, the 1939 Wyndham Championship winner, won the Santa Monica Open in California in 1931.  He is just the fourth player in PGA TOUR history to win before turning 20 years old.

Spieth has extensive experience at Sedgefield Country Club. He played the AJGA FJ Invitational at Sedgefield in 2008 and ’09; he finished tied for sixth and fourth respectively and was the AJGA Rolex Junior Player of the Year in 2009.  He won the U.S. Junior Amateur in 2009 and ’11 joining Tiger Woods as the only other multiple winner of that event.  He turned professional midway through his sophomore year at the University of Texas.

“Today was a pretty good day for the Wyndham Championship,” tournament director Mark Brazil said.  “We added a hall of famer in Ernie Els and quite possibly the best young player in the world in Jordan Spieth to a field that was already very strong.  I really like the mix of American and International players we have in the field this year led by Sergio Garcia, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Zach Johnson, Bill Haas, Padraig Harrington, Martin Kaymer and Hideki Matsuyama – I really like the mix.  I think we have more big-name players this year than we’ve had in about 20 years.”

Other players joining the Wyndham field include 1997 British Open Championship winner Justin Leonard and 2006 U.S. Open Champion Geoff Ogilvy.  The full field is listed below.

Contested annually on the Donald Ross-designed course at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, N.C., the Wyndham Championship was founded in 1938 and is the seventh-oldest event on the PGA TOUR.  Two-for-one good-any-day tickets are available for purchase at Piedmont Triad Harris Teeter locations with a VIC Card; other tickets are available at or through the tournament office.  The tournament thanks title sponsor Wyndham Worldwide, presenting sponsor BB&T and Premier Partners, Cadillac, Harris Teeter, McConnell Golf, Sunbrella®, Technology Concepts & Design, Inc. and VF Corporation for their continued support.  Additional tournament information, including ticket packages and sponsorship information, is available at or through the tournament office at (336) 379-1570.  For more information about Wyndham Worldwide, please visit  Stay connected with the Wyndham Championship through its social media channels, including the Wyndham Championship Facebook page, Twitter, Instagram, Foursquare, Flickr and YouTube.

# # #


Joe Affrunti
Robert Allenby
Stephen Ames
Stuart Appleby
Arjun Atwal
Aaron Baddeley
Sang-Moon Bae
Ricky Barnes
Charlie Beljan
Jason Bohn
Justin Bolli
Steven Bowditch
Michael Bradley
Jonathan Byrd
Chad Campbell
Paul Casey
Roberto Castro
Bud Cauley
Greg Chalmers
Kevin Chappell
K.J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Tim Clark
Will Claxton
Nicolas Colsaerts
Erik Compton
Donald Constable
Ben Crane
Ben Curtis
Brian Davis
Brendon de Jonge
Chris DiMarco
James Driscoll
Ernie Els

Derek Ernst
Bob Estes
Matt Every
Ross Fisher
Martin Flores
Brad FritschTommy Gainey
Sergio Garcia
Scott Gardiner
Robert Garrigus
Bobby Gates
Tom Gillis
Lucas Glover
Fabian Gomez
Andres Gonzales
Jeff Gove
Bill Haas
James Hahn
Paul Haley II
Peter Hanson
Brian Harman
Padraig Harrington
J.J. Henry
Jim Herman
Justin Hicks
Morgan Hoffmann
Charles Howell III
John Huh
Trevor Immelman
Ryo Ishikawa
Zach Johnson
Matt Jones
Robert Karlsson
Martin Kaymer
Jerry Kelly
Si Woo Kim
Chris Kirk
Colt Knost
Ben Kohles
Jason Kokrak
Doug LaBelle II
Neal Lancaster
Scott Langley
Steve LeBrun
D.H. LeeRichard H.Lee
Justin Leonard
Michael Letzig
David Lingmerth
Luke List
Davis Love III
David Lynn
Jeff Maggert
Steve Marino
David Mathis
Hideki Matsuyama
Troy Matteson
William McGirt
George McNeill
Eric Meierdierks
Kelly Mitchum
Bryce Molder
Seung-Yul Noh
Henrik Norlander
Sean O’Hair
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
Greg Owen
Jin Park
Cameron Percy
Pat Perez
Carl Pettersson
Ted Potter, Jr.
Alistair Presnell
Dicky Pride
Chez Reavie
Patrick Reed
Tag Ridings
John Rollins
Andres Romero
Rory Sabbatini
John Senden
Webb Simpson
Vijay SinghBrandt Snedeker
Joey Snyder III
Jordan Spieth
Kevin Stadler
Scott Stallings
Brendan Steele
Shawn Stefani
Darron Stiles
Robert Streb
Chris Stroud
Brian Stuard
Daniel Summerhays
Andrew Svoboda
Josh Teater
Nicholas Thompson
David Toms
Cameron Tringale
Scott Verplank
Camilo Villegas
Johnson Wagner
Jimmy Walker
Aaron Watkins
Nick Watney
Boo Weekley
Mike Weir
Charlie Wi
Chris Williams
Lee Williams
Mark Wilson
Casey Wittenberg
Y.E. Yang


Latest Headlines