Four Major Championship Winners Join Wyndham Field

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Four Major championship winners, David Toms, John Daly, Lucas Glover and Justin Leonard, will all return to the Piedmont Triad next month to play in the Wyndham Championship. The 73rd annual Wyndham Championship is set for Aug. 13-19, 2012.

These players join a field that already includes defending champion and U.S. Open Champion Webb Simpson, 2012 Ryder Cup Captain Davis Love III, 2011 FedExCup champion Bill Haas, former Wyndham winners Brandt Snedeker and Carl Pettersson and two-time PGA TOUR winner Jason Dufner.

2010 Wyndham Championship runner up David Toms won the PGA Championship in 2001.  Toms will make his 14th Wyndham Championship appearance.  His runner-up finish in 2010 is his best Wyndham finish.  He is currently 73rd in FedExCup points and 37th in the Official World Golf Rankings.  The Louisiana State University alumnus has three top-10 finishes in 14 starts this season.

Two-time major winner John Daly will play in the Wyndham Championship again this year.  This year’s tournament will be Daly’s fifth-consecutive Wyndham and his 13th overall.  He has made six cuts in eight PGA TOUR appearances this season.  He stunned the golf world when he won the 1991 PGA Championship after making the field as an alternate.  He also won the 1995 Open Championship.

2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover will return to Sedgefield for his ninth consecutive appearance here.  The Clemson University alumnus finished seventh in the 2010 Wyndham Championship for his best finish in his eight previous appearances.  The three-time PGA TOUR winner suffered a knee injury early this season and has only played in 14 tournaments.  He is currently 216th in the FedExCup point standings.

Leonard, the winner of the 1997 Open Championship, is making his fifth Wyndham appearance with good reason:  in his four previous appearances here, he has never finished below 17th.  He finished tied for 14th in 1995, tied for 16th in 2000, tied for third in 2010 and tied for 17th last year.  The 12-time PGA TOUR winner has played on five Presidents Cup teams and three Ryder Cup teams.  He is the 1992 U.S. Amateur champion, and he is 164th in the current FedExCup point standings.

Contested annually on the Donald Ross-designed course at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, N.C., the Wyndham Championship was founded in 1938 and is the seventh-oldest event on the PGA TOUR.  Tickets will be available soon at or through the tournament office.  The tournament thanks title sponsor Wyndham Worldwide, presenting sponsor BB&T and Premier Partners, Cadillac, Harris Teeter, McConnell Golf, Sunbrella®, Technology Concepts & Design, Inc. and VF Corporation for their continued support.  Additional tournament information, including ticket packages and sponsorship information, is available at or through the tournament office at (336) 379-1570.  For more information about Wyndham Worldwide, please visit

# # #

Latest Headlines

In Memoriam: Irwin Smallwood

Irwin Smallwood was a golf writer, sports editor and managing editor of the Greensboro News & Record, formerly the Greensboro Daily News, where he worked…