Tiger Woods Enters Wyndham Championship Field; Final Field Released

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Tiger Woods has entered the field for the Piedmont Triad’s PGA TOUR event, the tournament announced today. The 76th annual Wyndham Championship starts Monday at Sedgefield Country Club.

Among those who have committed are world No. 11 Adam Scott, world No. 15 Hideki Matsuyama, world No. 20 Brooks Koepka, world No. 21 Martin Kaymer, world No. 22 Billy Horschel, world No. 27 Paul Casey, world No. 28 Brenden Grace, world No. 29 Bill Haas, world No. 30 Brandt Snedeker, World Golf Hall of Famer Ernie Els, 2011 champion Webb Simpson, Major winners Charl Schwartzel, Jason Dufner, Stewart Cink, Justin Leonard and World Golf Hall of Famer Vijay Singh, former world No. 1 Luke Donald, 2009 champion Ryan Moore, Harris English, reigning champion Camilo Villegas, two-time champion Davis Love III, 2008 winner Carl Pettersson, 2005 champion K.J. Choi and 2010 winner Arjun Atwal. “Young Guns” Justin Thomas, Ollie Schniederjans, Daniel Berger, Chesson Hadley, Patrick Rodgers and Cameron Smith are also in the field. Retief Goosen withdrew today.

Woods is a 14-time major Championship winner and a 79-time PGA TOUR winner with 12 international wins and 14 “other” victories also to his credit. His career PGA TOUR win total is second only to that of Sam Snead who won the Piedmont Triad’s PGA TOUR event eight times among his 82 career victories.

“We’re obviously excited that Tiger has entered our field,” tournament director Mark Brazil said. “He still needs to finish his second round and see where he ends up. We have been in touch with Tiger’s agent all week and understand that Tiger has entered the field to keep his options open. We’re hopeful that he will tee it up at the Wyndham next week.

“Earlier today, we announced that Martin Kaymer and Adam Scott will play the Wyndham next week – these are two of the biggest names in golf. Our field is quite possibly the best in our 76-year history; we have six former world No. 1 players, 16 Major champions, eight former Wyndham winners and many of the best young players in the game. It should be a world-class tournament at Sedgefield next week.”

Woods won the Masters Tournament in 1997, 2001, ’02 and ’05. He won the U.S. Open Championship in 2000, ’02 and ’08. He won the Open Championship in 2000, ’05 and ’06, and he won the PGA Championship in 1999, 2000, ’06 and ’07. Woods is just the second golfer, after Jack Nicklaus, to achieve the career grand slam three times. Woods and his Nike teammate, Rory McIlroy, are the only golfers to win both the silver and gold medals at the Open Championship. He has been named PGA TOUR Player of the Year a record 11 times.

Woods was the No. 1 player in the world 264-consecutive weeks between August 1999 and September 2004 and 281-consecutive weeks between June 2005 and October 2010. After winning the Arnold Palmer Invitational on March 25, 2013, he ascended to the No.1 ranking once again, holding the top spot until May 2014.

# # #

2015 Wyndham Championship Field:

Steven Alker
Robert Allenby
Ryan Armour
Arjun Atwal
Eric Axley
Aaron Baddeley
Blayne Barber
Ricky Barnes
Charlie Beljan
Daniel Berger
Zac Blair
Jonas Blixt
Scott Brown
Jonathan Byrd
Chad Campbell
Paul Casey
Roberto Castro
Alex Cejka
Greg Chalmers
K.J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Tim Clark
Chad Collins
Erik Compton
Austin Cook
Ben Crane
Jon Curran
Brian Davis
Brendon de Jonge
Luke Donald
Jason Dufner
Ken Duke
Ernie Els
Harris English
Derek Ernst
Matt Every
Derek Fathauer
Gonzalo Fdez-Castano
Steve Flesch
Martin Flores
Oscar Fraustro
Scott Gardiner
Brice Garnett
Robert Garrigus
Tom Gillis
Lucas Glover
Andres Gonzales
Jason Gore
Branden Grace
Luke Guthrie
Bill Haas
Jerry Haas
Chesson Hadley
Adam Hadwin
Brian Harman
Dudley Hart
J.J. Henry
Jim Herman
Morgan Hoffmann
Tom Hoge
Max Homa
Billy Horschel
Charles Howell III
Mark Hubbard
John Huh
Billy Hurley III
Trevor Immelman
Ryo Ishikawa
Martin Kaymer
Jerry Kelly
Troy Kelly
Whee Kim
Colt Knost
Russell Knox
Brooks Koepka
Jason Kokrak
Martin Laird
Neal Lancaster
Scott Langley
Justin Leonard
Spencer Levin
Andrew Loupe
Davis Love III
Bill Lunde
Will MacKenzie
Ben Martin
Hideki Matsuyama
William McGirt
George McNeill
John Merrick
Bryce Molder
Ryan Moore
Seung-Yul Noh
Sean O’Hair
Carlos Ortiz
Jeff Overton
S.J. Park
Cameron Percy
John Peterson
Carl Pettersson
Scott Piercy
Scott Pinckney
D.A. Points
Alex Prugh
Andrew Putnam
Michael Putnam
Jonathan Randolph
Chez Reavie
Kyle Reifers
Jim Renner
Patrick Rodgers
Carlos Sainz Jr
Sam Saunders
Ollie Schniederjans
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
Webb Simpson
Vijay Singh
Roger Sloan
Heath Slocum
Byron Smith
Cameron Smith
Brandt Snedeker
Kyle Stanley
Chris Stroud
Brian Stuard
Zack Sucher
Daniel Summerhays
Andrew Svoboda
Hudson Swafford
Nick Taylor
Vaughn Taylor
Josh Teater
Justin Thomas
Michael Thompson
Nicholas Thompson
Brendon Todd
David Toms
Tyrone Van Aswegen
Bo Van Pelt
Jhonattan Vegas
Scott Verplank
Camilo Villegas
Johnson Wagner
Nick Watney
Boo Weekley
Steve Wheatcroft
Will Wilcox
Tim Wilkinson
Mark Wilson
Tiger Woods

Latest Headlines