Nick Watney, Angel Cabrera, Ryan Moore, Rocco Mediate and Arjun Atwal Join Wyndham Field

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Nick Watney, Angel Cabrera, Ryan Moore, Rocco Mediate and Arjun Atwal have all joined the field for next week’s Wyndham Championship, it was announced today.  With today’s announcement, each of the last six Wyndham winners is in the 2012 field.  The 73rd annual Wyndham Championship is set for Aug. 13-19, 2012.

These players join a field that already includes defending champion and 2012 U.S. Open Champion Webb Simpson, 2012 Ryder Cup Captain Davis Love III, 2011 FedExCup champion Bill Haas, Jason Dufner who is currently third in the FedExCup point standings and eighth in the Official World Golf Rankings, former Wyndham winners Brandt Snedeker and Carl Pettersson, Japanese superstar Ryo Ishikawa, 2001 PGA Championship winner David Toms, two-time major winner John Daly, 2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover, 1997 Open Championship winner Justin Leonard, Tim Clark and Paul Casey.

Watney is 33rd in the Official World Golf Rankings and 48th in the current FedExCup point standings.  He has made 17 cuts in 19 starts this season and has a pair of top-10 finishes; he finished eighth at the Wells Fargo Championship in Charlotte and 10th at the AT&T National in Washington, D.C.  Watney is making his fourth Wyndham Championship appearance; his best finish here came in 2006 when he finished tied for sixth. A native of Sacramento, Calif., he attended Fresno State University and lives in Las Vegas.

Cabrera is a two-time major championship winner from Cordoba, Argentina.  He won the U.S. Open in 2007 and The Masters in 2009.  He has 39 international wins and has competed for the international team in three President’s Cup Matches and nine World Cup Matches.  He is making his second consecutive Wyndham Championship appearance; he missed the cut last year.  He is known internationally as El Pato, “The Duck.”

Wyndham Championship winners from 2006 through 2011 are now in the tournament field.  2006 winner Davis Love III, 2007 winner Brandt Snedeker, 2008 winner Carl Pettersson, 2009 winner Ryan Moore, 2010 winner Arjun Atwal and 2011 winner Webb Simpson will all play the 73rd annual Wyndham Championship next week.

Moore returns to Sedgefield this year making his seventh appearance here.  The Las Vegas resident has made 15 cuts in 17 tournaments this year.  He is 61st in the FedExCup point standings and 77th in the Official World Golf Rankings.  He has four top-10 finishes this year, and his Wyndham win in 2009 remains is only PGA TOUR victory.

Atwal will be making his sixth Wyndham Championship appearance.  It 2010, he made the Wyndham field as a Monday qualifier and went on to become the first native of India to win a PGA TOUR event.  He was also the first Monday qualifier to win a PGA TOUR event in the previous 24 years.  He is the eighth wire-to-wire winner in Wyndham Championship history.

Rocco Mediate is a two-time winner of the Piedmont Triad’s PGA TOUR event hoisting the Sam Snead Cup in 1993 and 2002.   Always a crowd favorite in the Piedmont Triad, Mediate will be making his 21st Wyndham Championship appearance next week.  He is a six-time PGA TOUR winner.

Contested annually on the Donald Ross-designed course at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, N.C., the Wyndham Championship was founded in 1938 and is the seventh-oldest event on the PGA TOUR.  Buy one, get one free tickets are available at Piedmont Triad-area Harris Teeter locations, at or through the tournament office.  The tournament thanks title sponsor Wyndham Worldwide, presenting sponsor BB&T and Premier Partners, Cadillac, Harris Teeter, McConnell Golf, Sunbrella®, Technology Concepts & Design, Inc. and VF Corporation for their continued support.  Additional tournament information, including ticket packages and sponsorship information, is available at or through the tournament office at (336) 379-1570.  For more information about Wyndham Worldwide, please visit

# # #

Latest Headlines

In Memoriam: Irwin Smallwood

Irwin Smallwood was a golf writer, sports editor and managing editor of the Greensboro News & Record, formerly the Greensboro Daily News, where he worked…